Fee Schedule for Recording a Document
Table of Contents:
Checklist for preparation of Documents to be Recorded
Standard Document Format
Recording and Filing Fees
Real Estate Transfer Fees
Counties that require "Parcel Identification" numbers
Uniform Commercial Code
Vital Records Fee Schedule
State Plat Review Archival Document Sources

RECORDING and FILING FEES

Fees are governed by Wisconsin Statutes and are uniform throughout the State.   

RECORDED DOCUMENTS
(Recorded documents will be returned to sender or designee.) 

Deeds, Mortgages, Land Contracts, Satisfactions, etc. and Miscellaneous Documents

Wisconsin Act 314 (2010) changed the Register of Deeds recording fee to $30*.

Note: Maximum size sheet: 8 1/2" x 14". One side of a sheet constitutes a page and any riders attached are considered another page. 

HT-110 $30* (flat fee regardless of the number of pages)

Document Copies and Certified Copies

Copies of recorded documents are $2.00 for the first page and $1.00 each additional page, plus $1.00 for certificate if a certified copy is requested. Faxed documents will be charged an additional fee per page. Check with your register of deeds for FAX fees. Fees must be received, before copies are sent out.   Link to Counties that require the property tax bill along with the HT-110

PLATS

Subdivision, Cemetery and Condominium Plats are $50 regardless of the number of pages.

Department of Transportation Project Plats (TPP) are $25 with one page being one plat.

Plats are 22 X 30" in size except for Condominium Plats which are 14 X 22."

State Plat Review Archival Document Sources

FILED DOCUMENTS

Lis Pendens (can also be recorded), Writ of Attachments, and Filed documents for which no other fee is specified in Wisconsin Statutes 

  • $30.00

Copies of filed documents are $2.00 for first page and $1.00 each additional page, plus $1.00 for the certificate if a certificate is requested. 

Table of Contents

REAL ESTATE TRANSFER FEES

Wisconsin Real Estate Transfer Fee Information
Tips to Searching recorded DOR eTransfer Returns
Links to Electronic Form Information
  1. A transfer form and fee or exemption number is required for all conveyances EXCEPT when exemptions 1, 2r, 4 and 11 apply. 

  2. Form is to be completed in DETAIL.  Link to form information

  3. Current rate of fee is $3.00 per $1000 of value rounded off to the next higher hundred. See form for exceptions. 

  4. VALUATION MUST BE SHOWN when documents are exempt except if exempt under 77.25(3) and (11) 

  5. Both Grantor and Grantee OR their agent MUST sign form. 

  6. Transfers involving rental property must be accompanied by a certificate of compliance (if not previously done) to prove that weatherization standards have been met, or with a stipulation which is an agreement to bring the property up to code.  Check the listing of agents and county fees

Table of Contents

 

 

Link to Real Estate Transfer Form information
Wisconsin Register of Deeds Association - Main Page | Who We Are | Recording Documents | Online Records | Vital Records